Carolyn Huynh’s The Fortunes of Jaded Women // Cover Reveal

I’m excited to share the cover for The Fortunes of Jaded Women by Carolyn Huynh, a heartwarming debut that will publish on September 6th, 2022.

CREDIT: Sandra Chiu, art direction from Min Choi.

Asian American Girl Club’s Book Club account was kind enough to reveal the cover!

For fans of Jonathan Tropper, KJ Dell’Antonia, Jesse Sutanto, and Kevin Kwan, this “sharp, smart, and gloriously extra” (Nancy Jooyoun Kim, bestselling author of The Last Story of Mina Lee) debut follows a family of estranged Vietnamese women—cursed to never know love or happiness—as they reunite when a psychic makes a startling prediction. It’s a universal story about mothers and daughters, but I also think so many Vietnamese, Asian, first-gen, and second-gen will see themselves on the page, too. 💜

Carolyn is a charming and resplendent new voice to contemporary fiction, and I can’t tell you how special it is for me as a Vietnamese American woman to edit a fellow Vietnamese American—to see our heritage portrayed so precisely. So tenderly. I saw my own mother and aunties in the flawed and feisty matriarchs who sacrificed everything for family . . . only to forget themselves along the way. I saw myself in their young daughters who carry their mothers’ burdens, but fight to spread their wings and take flight. Yes, these women fall—a lot—but they don’t plummet to the ground; they find ways to land.

Here’s how you can support Carolyn’s novel:

📚 Pre-order her book!

📚 Add it to your Goodreads TBR so that you can get reminders for future giveaways. 

📚 Bookstagrammers: request an ARC through @AtriaBooks’ form—*write in the book title anywhere on the form*—or email atriamarketing@simonandschuster.com.

📚 Spread the word. (Listen . . . I grew up thinking that my family gossiped too much, but I’ve slowly turned into my mom and my aunts because I recently texted my sister CALL ME to dish about something . . . and she picked up right away 😂)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s